Lifesaving Sport

Canadian Surf Lifesaving Championships (CSLC)

The Canadian Surf Lifesaving Championships events are conducted according to the latest published edition of the ILS Competition Rule Book. The CSLCs test lifesaving skills (versus lifeguarding skills) in an open water or surf setting.

For the Canadian Surf Lifesaving Championships, the following events shall be conducted in both male and female categories for 15–18 years, Open and Masters:

  • Beach Flags
  • Beach Sprint
  • Beach Run (2 km)
  • Board Race
  • Surf Ski Race
  • Surf Race
  • Oceanman / Oceanwoman
  • Lifesaving Pentathlon
  • Rescue Tube Rescue Relay (Team Event)
  • Oceanman / Oceanwoman Relay (Team Event)
  • Board Rescue (Team Event)
  • Beach Relay (Team Event)

The Canadian Surf Lifesaving Championships are open to any Individual Member, Affiliated Club or Affiliate Member of the Lifesaving Society in good standing. An individual or Affiliate is in good standing unless their Registered Athlete or Affiliate status has been revoked by the Lifesaving Society Canada or a Lifesaving Society Branch using the Certification Review Process.

To be eligible to compete in the Canadian Surf Lifesaving Championships, competitors shall:

  • hold a current (within 24 months of the date of certification) Lifesaving Society Bronze Medallion or higher certification (defined as Lifesaving Society national mandatory and endorsed awards for which Bronze Medallion is a prerequisite).
  • be a minimum of 15 years of age (30 years for Masters) as of the first day of the Canadian Surf Lifesaving Championships.
  • be a Registered Athlete.

For more information about the Canadian Pool Lifesaving Championships, please reference the Canadian Competition Manual.