Lifesaving Sport

Canadian Pool Lifesaving Championships (CPLC)

Canadian Pool Lifesaving Championships events are conducted according to the latest published edition of the ILS Competition Rule Book. The CPLCs test lifesaving skills (versus lifeguarding skills) in a pool setting.

For the Canadian Pool Lifesaving Championships, the following events shall be conducted in both male and female categories for 15–18 years, Open and Masters categories:

  • 200 m Obstacle Swim
  • 50 m Manikin Carry
  • 100 m Rescue Medley
  • 100 m Manikin Carry with Fins
  • 100 m Manikin Tow with Fins
  • 200 m Super Lifesaver
  • Lifesaving Pentathlon
  • Line Throw (Team Event)
  • 4 X 25 m Manikin Relay (Team Event)
  • 4 X 50 m Obstacle Relay (Team Event)
  • 4 X 50 m Medley Relay (Team Event)

The Canadian Pool Lifesaving Championships are open to any Individual Member, Affiliated Club or Affiliate Member of the Lifesaving Society in good standing. An individual or Affiliate is in good standing unless their Registered Athlete or Affiliate status has been revoked by the Lifesaving Society Canada or a Lifesaving Society Branch using the Certification Review Process.

To be eligible to compete in the Canadian Pool Lifesaving Championships, competitors shall:

  • hold a current (within 24 months of date of certification) Lifesaving Society Bronze Medallion or higher certification (defined as Lifesaving Society national mandatory and endorsed awards for which Bronze Medallion is a prerequisite).
  • be a minimum of 15 years of age (30 years for Masters) as of the first day of the Canadian Pool Lifesaving Championships.
  • be a Registered Athlete.

For more information about the Canadian Pool Lifesaving Championships, please reference the Canadian Competition Manual.